Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 9th, 2007

A funny thing happened on the way to employment. If you’ve been reading my last couple of posts, you’ll know that I’ll be quitting at the end of the month. (for reasons you can read about in “the not-so mouldy sandwich”) I’ve actually been thinking that maybe I should venture out for a change and try something other than advertising. One could say, a decade per industry is just about fine.

Having no experience in the 2 industries that I applied for (one was a brand consutancy and the other a senior writer’s post for a British Magazine), I found the strangest thing happening. You see – both parties told me that I seemed over qualified for the job! Ten years in advertising may have given me a fringe understanding of these jobs but certainly not an overqualification! Is it just me, or was I duped?

I’ve come to the understanding that no company wants to hire anyone of worth anymore, when they can get an idiot to run around and do the same thing (albeit not as effectively). What is it about bad economies that make worse business decisions? Shouldn’t the term penny wise foolish be put to rest once and for all?

We have a bad enough political system in this country (I could sware herr president was looking a lot like Idi Amin in his “gamarala do” in the weekend papers) and we need at least our businessmen to make better decisions. I’m not just howling about not getting the job – I’m just pleading with many businesses who seem to selling themselves down the drain for the quick buck.

Am I just ranting or making some glimmer of sense?

Read Full Post »